[ejabberd] [ANN] ejabberd 2.1.0 finally released

Jérôme Sautret jerome.sautret at process-one.net
Fri Nov 13 17:32:32 MSK 2009

ejabberd 2.1.0 is finally released, and it comes with an enormous list
of 314 new features, improvements and bugfixes. It has been 21 months
since the last major ejabberd release 2.0.0, and 8 months since 2.0.5.

Very brief list of additions:

* Erlang/OTP R13 support
* HTTP-Bind (BOSH) optimization and clean-up
* LDAPS support
* MUC rooms can require a CAPTCHA to join the room
* PubSub: major improvements. Update to XEP version 1.12
* PEP and Caps: many improvements
* Run commands with ejabberdctl or other frontends (XML-RPC, HTTP)
* STUN server
* XEPs like: XMPP Ping, Roster Versioning, Import/Export Format

Check the Release Notes for a more complete list of changes:

If you upgrade from a previous ejabberd version, read carefully the
release notes, because there were several changes in the installation
path and the configuration options.

The list of solved tickets since 2.0.0 is available on ProcessOne bug tracker:

ejabberd 2.1.0 is available as source code package and binary
installers for Linux 32 bits, 64 bits, Mac OS X Intel, and Windows:


A big thank you to everyone who helped in the ejabberd project during
the last months. This list is extracted from ejabberd's commit log
between version 2.0.0 and 2.1.0:

Alexander Tsvyashchenko, Alexey Shchepin, Anastasia Gornostaeva,
Andreas Ntaflos, Andreas van Cranenburgh, Andrzej Smyk, Andy Harb,
Andy Skelton, Anton Podavalov, Apag0r, Attila Vangel, Badlop, Brian
Cully, Carlos E. Lopez, Christoph Anton Mitterer, Christopher Dupont,
Clochix, Dariusz Markowicz, Dominges, Doruk Fisek, Eric Cestari, Etan
Reisner, Evgeniy Khramtsov, Fabrice Colliot, Felix Geyer, Gabriele
Stilli, Geoff Cant, George Hazan, Glenn Sieb, Graham Whitted, Gustaf
Alströmer, Igor Goryachev, Jack Moffitt, James Iakovos Mandelis, Jan
Kusanagi, Janusz Dziemidowicz, Jeffrey Rogiers, Jon Bendtsen, Jonathan
Auer, Jonathan Schleifer, Juan Pablo Carlino, Justin Boffemmyer,
Justin Kirby, Jérôme Sautret, Kevin Crosbie, Konstantin Khomoutov,
Luca Brivio, Lukáš Polívka, Magnus Henoch, Marcin Owsiany, Marek
Bečka, Martin Langhoff, Massimiliano Mirra, Matthew Reilly, Maxim
Ryazanov, Michal Schmidt, Mickaël Rémond, Myers Carpenter,
Neustradamus, Nicolas Vérité, Nikolaus Polak, Oleg Palij, Otávio
Fernandes, Pablo Polvorin, Pablo Saratxaga, Paul Guyot, Pedro Melo,
Philipp Hancke, Ruslan Rakhmanin, Sergei Golovan, Shelley Shyan,
Smart2128, Spike, Stefan Strigler, Stephan Maka, Stian B. Barmen,
Thomas, Thomas Baden, Thore Alstromer, Tsukasa Hamano, Vincent Barat,
Viq, Zbyszek Żółkiewski, and Zhan Caibao.

More information about the ejabberd mailing list